Quiet Giant

qui•et

1 : making little or no noise; quiet neighbors
2 : the quality or state of being quiet; tranquility
2 : free from turmoil or agitation; untroubled

gi•ant

1 : A person or thing of great size
2 : A person or thing of extraordinary power, significance, or importance
3 : Greek Mythology; one of a race of humanlike beings of enormous strength and stature who were destroyed in battle with the Olympians

He’s old, really damn old! I’m not really sure why he called me here or what he expects me to do for him. Honestly I’m not really sure he’s a he but I decide that works for now.

His friends and family stand around quietly whispering amongst themselves; even his children are old. I reach up and touch his lower extremity which was burned some time ago. It’s an old injury with minor discoloration and scarring being the only evidence. I doubt it bothers him anymore although the fire that raged through his neighborhood must have been frightening.

He has a serenity to him that makes me feel relaxed and peaceful. I wonder what world events he has witnessed in his lifetime: the men that landed on the moon; the two times that men of the world took up arms against each other; the men who came to these shores in boats and eradicated a peaceful nation; the men who traveled across another continent to wage war in the name of a prophet; even the birth of that prophet. I suspect he’s stood silently throughout all of these events without judgment.

I don’t think he called me here to help him. More likely that he called me here to be helped by him. I have to admit, I feel better after spending some time with him but it’s starting to get dark now and I should get back.

Walking the trails back to the car I feel the sporadic drips on my head. It’s not rain, just the evening marine layer coming in off the coast and condensing on the boughs of the enormous redwood trees overhead; then falling to earth like tears.

~ by KC on July 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
